My Life and My Views about the world

Sharing my world with you :: Happenings around me !

8th ICAPP

Posted by sadeepa palliyaguru on August 30, 2007

Dear Friends ,

I got an opportunity to participate in the 8th ICAPP (International Conference on AIDS in ASIA and the Pasific) held in Sri Lanka as a volunteer. View ICAPP Web Site I was not able to participate at the conference for all three days , but was able to help them for one day.

My Akki Supipi invited me to take part. Her NGO played a key role in organizing this conference. Large number of delegates representing various Asian and pacific nations took part in this conference. I assisted the registration of the participants. I was assigned to update a blog of the conference , however unfortunately was not able to do that.

Even through i am not ac AIDS activist , i understood the gravity of the AIDS after participating in this conference. Also i understood that large amount of people are actively fighting to curb this disease. Some of the activists were HIV infected and they shared how they are fighting the disease in their countries. They stressed the need of a global alliance and regional level collaboration to fight HIV/AIDS.

I was able to participate in two session , Policy and advocacy for change and ICT for greater regional
collaboration in responding to HIV/AIDS.

I am determine to start my own HIV/AIDS awareness campaign as a Leo member. Already i have asked my Leo club to start an e mail campaign on HIV/AIDS. Inuru Illeperuma , president of our Leo club would start that project. On the other hand leos of Moragahahena , Piliyandala and Bokundara promised to help me in starting an HIV awareness campaign.

A youth leader from Pakistan conducting a workshop

A participant from Pakistan conducting a workshop

Afghan Doctor speaking

The Opening ceremony of ARYF – Sri Lankan Cricket captain Mahela Jayawardana took part as the cheief guest

Opening ARYF

Supipi and a friend busy at work

My Akki Busy at work

Registration Table

This is where i worked

Finally i would say that i saw a very interesting slogan at this conference. It’s

Abstain

Be Faithful

use a Condom !

The participants called that ABC’s of HIV prevention. So i ask all of you to follow the ABC’s. I should also thank my akki – Supipi for inviting me to take part in this conference.

AIDS AD

Leave a Reply

 
